Now that I’ve written an upbeat Libertines/Strokes-esque tune, I’m developing unfortunate dreams of starting a band and writing some more songs like that. Which doesn’t fit into either my overbearing plans or my overstuffed schedule. At all.

I’m sure it’ll pass. It’s just something about the (almost) comfortable temperatures and the exceptional sunshine. It makes me want to get drunk and dance and help others do the same. It inspires a spirit of generosity and not giving a fuck.

Plus, The Strokes have a new record out. It’s leaked already, naturally, and I’m listening to it right now. It’s good – not up to their first record, but then it’s a little unfair to compare all the work they’ve done since then to that zeitgeist-defining album. I feel kind of bad for bands, like Bloc Party, Maximo Park, and The Strokes, who made an unassailable classic right out of the gate. What do you do? Either you try and repeat the success, and get accused of being a one-trick pony, or you try and expand, and get accused of betraying your loyal fans.

And those loyal fans? They’re ASSHOLES. I know. I am one. I’m still mad at Bloc Party for putting down their guitars and picking up sequencers. Is that fair? No. They’re following their musical interests. It’s what I’d do. But I’m still obsessed with what they started out as, and for some reason I feel I have a right to force them to keep being that. I don’t.

In fact, the subject of this post is my own inability to pick a singular focus and stick to it. At this moment, all I want is to make a record that combines the best bits of early Kings of Leon, Strokes and Phoenix, play it in clubs, and hopefully cause a whole generation to make babies with each other in the bathrooms. Yeah. Might not happen.

Next week I’ll probably be back to obsessing over Kanye’s production style, Shad’s rapping, and Black Star’s non-cheesy consciousness. Well, I guess the Internet age is designed for those with ADD. As long as it’s still fun, I’m just going to indulge these whims of mine and trust that I’ll somehow meet my original goal. I will. It’ll just happen in a mad rush in mid-December. Oh god.