The year’s almost done, and despite what I said last time (and the time before), I haven’t been able to keep this blog up. But there’s a little movement, now that we’re a week or two away from the ‘Eleven’ in the title of this site from becoming evidence of how out-of-date I am. 

It comes in the first track from the forthcoming Paris Hotel Wars album. It’s called ‘Sliding Out Of View’, and I wrote and recorded it this morning. It’s hazy, hard to make out, and very much in keeping with what I picture when I think of PHW. Listen for yourself:

Paris Hotel Wars – Sliding Out Of View

See, in the last few weeks, I’ve had this crazy little fantasy in the back of my head: I wake up one morning, and I create a track. Then another. And then, before you know it, I’ve got a whole album ready to go before the year is out. 

This is a fantasy, as I said. But you never know. It felt great to be back in the songwriting game. And this is how I always expected PHW to go: playing with synths and textures until I find something that sound like it has a song in it. 

Anyway, on the off chance you’ve been holding your breath, stop. Oh dear. You’re dead by now. Sorry! I’d love to get one more record out there in the world before 2011 gives way to 2012. After all, 2 out of 5 ain’t bad! It’s terrible. But it’s twice as good as 1 out of 5. 

Hope you’re all doing wonderfully well, and if I don’t talk to you before the holidays, Happy Christkwannukah. 

