Hey everyone – I’m still here! So a couple of weeks ago, my friends Noel and Rich and I got together to make a tune. This is something we’ve been doing on and off for the last few years. We make hip hop, and unlike many acts in that genre, we’re not fronting like we made it: we call ourselves Broke. 

A while back I thought it might be cool to make a track about why we’re called that. Mainly because I’m not entirely sure myself. I know it has something to do with a distinct lack of funds, but I think there are a bunch of other reasons. 

Anyway, I created a track with samples of Jay-Z and Eminem saying the word broke, and took it to Rich’s house to work on it. The thing that I realized as we were about halfway through the recording process is that the track itself… Kind of sucked. But it was too late – we were committed. 

Yesterday I finally found the time and focus to sit down and pull the thing apart, then put it back together in a new shape. And I have to admit, I kind of like it now. There’s infinitely less Jay and Em (as in, none), which is a blessing because reminding the audience of two of the greatest living rappers right before you spit a verse about your savings account and Leonard Cohen is probably unwise. And there’s more fast-paced chorus. Anyway, here it is. Hope you enjoy it. Happy Sunday.

Broke – ‘Go For Broke’

