Yesterday JP (Das Piumas bass player, musical genius) sent me two recordings of himself playing guitar to the accompaniment of birdsong outside a house in Thornbury Ontario. He asked me for some vocals over top of both of them. Here are the two songs, with accompanying vocals, and the lyrics I wrote:

Forget Me

Summer Frame

Here are the lyrics:

Forget Me

You were right to leave me, wrong to love me,

I was never even close

To being the man you needed me to be.

You were right to love me, wrong to leave me,

You could never even see

How deeply I fulfilled your every need.

I am of two minds, I see I’m blind,

Love you ‘cause I never loved you right.

And it started out with all those doubts,

I’m better off here worse than I have been.

 

If you ever loved me, please forget me,

Like you did, like you did already dear

If you ever loved me, please regret me,

Oh, and never let me hear.

Yes forget me, forget me, forget me every moment of the day.

Forget me every moment of the day. Moment of the day.

 

And dreaming of the ocean shore

Reminds me of the land we wore

Like boots we built of concrete and of clay.

We never would have walked too far

I hope you know you were the stars

I watched while you just looked away.

 

Summer Frame

How delicate the face we see

Between the lines of light

We dreamt of heat and woke to it

And now the day is bright.

Falling in the fields the birds

Are swiftest on the wing.

We listen for the sounds of home

To reach us on the wind.

La la la-la-la la-la.

La la la-la-la la-la.

You’re a fever. You’re a summer frame.

Paint is peeling. The old days peel away.

 

Intricate the latticework of

Shadows where we stand.

Beading up like teardrops

On the cool drink in your hand.

We were once

Miles across.

We were once

Wildly lost.

And we were once

Miles across.

We were once

Wildly lost.

La la la-la-la la-la.

La la la-la-la la-la.

La la la-la-la la-la.

